Lapbook Friday – Butterflies

As usual, my 5-year-old daughter picked this week’s topic for Lapbook Friday, and we studied it throughout the week by reading. No videos, this time, as I didn’t have the opportunity to find any on YouTube or elsewhere (we’re *still* working on our rental, nearly 4 hours away, every weekend, and it’s been taking up a lot of our energy).

We used the pre-done set from HomeschoolShare.com (love those guys), picking what I thought was most appropriate for my daughter and leaving the rest. 

I also found a Monarch butterfly from this website to print for the front of the lapbook. My daughter enjoyed coloring it to look like “the real thing.”

Books:

Butterflies, by Debbie and Brendan Gallagher (simple text my daughter could read, herself – although for now, we save all of our lapbook-themed books for read-alouds throughout the week)
Butterflies, by Julie Murray (even simpler – my 3-year-old appreciated some of the information in this one. Nice, large pictures, too.)
Classifying Insects, by Andrew Solway (just the 2 pages on butterflies and moths)
An Extraordinary Life: The Story of a Monarch Butterfly, by Laurence Pringle (this one was my favorite — my daughter sees Monarchs now and then and we were fascinated by this in-depth look at their life cycle and migration)
The Prince of Butterflies, by Bruce Coville (a little strange, but what has he written that isn’t?!) It’s a pretty picture book, if nothing else. My kids really liked it, I just thought it was weird.)

And a great jumping-off point to beginning discussions about the Holocaust (I have a fascination – almost to the point of obsession – with the Holocaust but my kids are still too young to comprehend it): The Butterfly by Patricia Polacco tells the story of a family in France who harbored a Jewish family in their cellar and kept them safe from the Nazis.

We’ve been talking about raising caterpillars next year. What a fun addition that would be to a butterfly unit study!DSC_0281 DSC_0284 DSC_0285

Leave a Reply

